Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>2018-03-09 12:52:04 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2018-03-12 15:28:48 +0100
commit9e5b127d6f33468143d90c8a45ca12410e4c3fa7 (patch)
treea4083d9cd0117aa816cd6af7ae75cac2a861cc04
parentfbf8a1e12c3ba3afdf0804bc80f5f13dfec1cffe (diff)
perf/core: Fix perf_output_read_group()
Mark reported his arm64 perf fuzzer runs sometimes splat like: armv8pmu_read_counter+0x1e8/0x2d8 armpmu_event_update+0x8c/0x188 armpmu_read+0xc/0x18 perf_output_read+0x550/0x11e8 perf_event_read_event+0x1d0/0x248 perf_event_exit_task+0x468/0xbb8 do_exit+0x690/0x1310 do_group_exit+0xd0/0x2b0 get_signal+0x2e8/0x17a8 do_signal+0x144/0x4f8 do_notify_resume+0x148/0x1e8 work_pending+0x8/0x14 which asserts that we only call pmu::read() on ACTIVE events. The above callchain does: perf_event_exit_task() perf_event_exit_task_context() task_ctx_sched_out() // INACTIVE perf_event_exit_event() perf_event_set_state(EXIT) // EXIT sync_child_event() perf_event_read_event() perf_output_read() perf_output_read_group() leader->pmu->read() Which results in doing a pmu::read() on an !ACTIVE event. I _think_ this is 'new' since we added attr.inherit_stat, which added the perf_event_read_event() to the exit path, without that perf_event_read_output() would only trigger from samples and for @event to trigger a sample, it's leader _must_ be ACTIVE too. Still, adding this check makes it consistent with the @sub case for the siblings. Reported-and-Tested-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/core.c3
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index 57898102847f..8b6a2774e084 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -5730,7 +5730,8 @@ static void perf_output_read_group(struct perf_output_handle *handle,
if (read_format & PERF_FORMAT_TOTAL_TIME_RUNNING)
values[n++] = running;
- if (leader != event)
+ if ((leader != event) &&
+ (leader->state == PERF_EVENT_STATE_ACTIVE))
leader->pmu->read(leader);
values[n++] = perf_event_count(leader);