Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJohannes Berg <johannes.berg@intel.com>2016-08-11 11:50:21 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-08-18 15:36:13 +0200
commitf17b3ea3d2df7c9bf3ce1dbd65b5fd7061f8e787 (patch)
tree5d09e44a82d1aac1bb0658aefbba3bfee90e561c
parent3684b03d8e9a889eda94ee74421959a9d55e5e19 (diff)
Revert "drm/fb-helper: Reduce READ_ONCE(master) to lockless_dereference"
This reverts commit: fa7d81bb3c269 ("drm/fb-helper: Reduce READ_ONCE(master) to lockless_dereference") As Peter explained: [...] lockless_dereference() is _stronger_ than READ_ONCE(), not weaker. [...] Also, clue is in the name: 'dereference', you don't actually dereference the pointer here, only load it. My next patch breaks the compile without this revert, because it assumes you want to deference and thus also need the struct type visible (which it isn't here), so revert it. Tested-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Reviewed-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1470909022-687-1-git-send-email-johannes@sipsolutions.net Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fb_helper.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fb_helper.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fb_helper.c
index ce54e985d91b..0a06f9120b5a 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fb_helper.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_fb_helper.c
@@ -464,7 +464,7 @@ static bool drm_fb_helper_is_bound(struct drm_fb_helper *fb_helper)
/* Sometimes user space wants everything disabled, so don't steal the
* display if there's a master. */
- if (lockless_dereference(dev->master))
+ if (READ_ONCE(dev->master))
return false;
drm_for_each_crtc(crtc, dev) {