Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>2016-08-17 17:36:29 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-08-18 10:03:26 +0200
commit6c4687cc17a788a6dd8de3e27dbeabb7cbd3e066 (patch)
tree18c11975cf2c765948282af20ba5fa011e12af52
parent3cace81ea5bb0b3f2b97cab8e2c8e1fae2feb7ed (diff)
uprobes: Fix the memcg accounting
__replace_page() wronlgy calls mem_cgroup_cancel_charge() in "success" path, it should only do this if page_check_address() fails. This means that every enable/disable leads to unbalanced mem_cgroup_uncharge() from put_page(old_page), it is trivial to underflow the page_counter->count and trigger OOM. Reported-and-tested-by: Brenden Blanco <bblanco@plumgrid.com> Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <alexei.starovoitov@gmail.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov@virtuozzo.com> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # 3.17+ Fixes: 00501b531c47 ("mm: memcontrol: rewrite charge API") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160817153629.GB29724@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/uprobes.c5
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/uprobes.c b/kernel/events/uprobes.c
index b7a525ab2083..8c50276b60d1 100644
--- a/kernel/events/uprobes.c
+++ b/kernel/events/uprobes.c
@@ -172,8 +172,10 @@ static int __replace_page(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long addr,
mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_start(mm, mmun_start, mmun_end);
err = -EAGAIN;
ptep = page_check_address(page, mm, addr, &ptl, 0);
- if (!ptep)
+ if (!ptep) {
+ mem_cgroup_cancel_charge(kpage, memcg, false);
goto unlock;
+ }
get_page(kpage);
page_add_new_anon_rmap(kpage, vma, addr, false);
@@ -200,7 +202,6 @@ static int __replace_page(struct vm_area_struct *vma, unsigned long addr,
err = 0;
unlock:
- mem_cgroup_cancel_charge(kpage, memcg, false);
mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_end(mm, mmun_start, mmun_end);
unlock_page(page);
return err;