Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>2016-01-26 14:55:02 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-01-29 08:35:34 +0100
commit60beda849343494b2a598b927630bbe293c1cc6e (patch)
tree747a882487e751ae5cdcf6b0c44e013d5a9b040e
parent45a0e07abf4933490a2d2f81b1a31fe267bd3561 (diff)
perf: Untangle 'owner' confusion
There are two concepts of owner wrt an event and they are conflated: - event::owner / event::owner_list, used by prctl(.option = PR_TASK_PERF_EVENTS_{EN,DIS}ABLE). - the 'owner' of the event object, typically the file descriptor. Currently these two concepts are conflated, which gives trouble with scm_rights passing of file descriptors. Passing the event and then closing the creating task would render the event 'orphan' and would have it cleared out. Unlikely what is expectd. This patch untangles these two concepts by using PERF_EVENT_STATE_EXIT to denote the second type. Reported-by: Alexei Starovoitov <alexei.starovoitov@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/core.c14
1 files changed, 12 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index 4291a4d27664..e549cf2accdd 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -1650,7 +1650,7 @@ out:
*/
static bool is_orphaned_event(struct perf_event *event)
{
- return event && !is_kernel_event(event) && !READ_ONCE(event->owner);
+ return event && event->state == PERF_EVENT_STATE_EXIT;
}
/*
@@ -1771,6 +1771,7 @@ group_sched_out(struct perf_event *group_event,
}
#define DETACH_GROUP 0x01UL
+#define DETACH_STATE 0x02UL
/*
* Cross CPU call to remove a performance event
@@ -1790,6 +1791,8 @@ __perf_remove_from_context(struct perf_event *event,
if (flags & DETACH_GROUP)
perf_group_detach(event);
list_del_event(event, ctx);
+ if (flags & DETACH_STATE)
+ event->state = PERF_EVENT_STATE_EXIT;
if (!ctx->nr_events && ctx->is_active) {
ctx->is_active = 0;
@@ -3801,9 +3804,16 @@ static void put_event(struct perf_event *event)
*/
ctx = perf_event_ctx_lock_nested(event, SINGLE_DEPTH_NESTING);
WARN_ON_ONCE(ctx->parent_ctx);
- perf_remove_from_context(event, DETACH_GROUP);
+ perf_remove_from_context(event, DETACH_GROUP | DETACH_STATE);
perf_event_ctx_unlock(event, ctx);
+ /*
+ * At this point we must have event->state == PERF_EVENT_STATE_EXIT,
+ * either from the above perf_remove_from_context() or through
+ * perf_event_exit_event().
+ */
+ WARN_ON_ONCE(event->state != PERF_EVENT_STATE_EXIT);
+
_free_event(event);
}