Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr>2019-09-23 15:38:54 -0700
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2019-10-07 18:57:18 +0200
commitf91a9c6591c0bf6ef72220ad1041331aadf1d2a2 (patch)
tree2d129f4d738aa7195b1cd438fdb6f7d6376b4a2e
parent53ba8d4358eb402abb1c011b294bc2cf3f1c3543 (diff)
arm: properly account for stack randomization and stack guard gap
[ Upstream commit af0f4297286f13a75edf93677b1fb2fc16c412a7 ] This commit takes care of stack randomization and stack guard gap when computing mmap base address and checks if the task asked for randomization. This fixes the problem uncovered and not fixed for arm here: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170622200033.25714-1-riel@redhat.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190730055113.23635-7-alex@ghiti.fr Signed-off-by: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr> Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Reviewed-by: Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org> Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/arm/mm/mmap.c14
1 files changed, 12 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm/mm/mmap.c b/arch/arm/mm/mmap.c
index f866870db749..bff3d00bda5b 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mm/mmap.c
+++ b/arch/arm/mm/mmap.c
@@ -18,8 +18,9 @@
(((pgoff)<<PAGE_SHIFT) & (SHMLBA-1)))
/* gap between mmap and stack */
-#define MIN_GAP (128*1024*1024UL)
-#define MAX_GAP ((TASK_SIZE)/6*5)
+#define MIN_GAP (128*1024*1024UL)
+#define MAX_GAP ((TASK_SIZE)/6*5)
+#define STACK_RND_MASK (0x7ff >> (PAGE_SHIFT - 12))
static int mmap_is_legacy(struct rlimit *rlim_stack)
{
@@ -35,6 +36,15 @@ static int mmap_is_legacy(struct rlimit *rlim_stack)
static unsigned long mmap_base(unsigned long rnd, struct rlimit *rlim_stack)
{
unsigned long gap = rlim_stack->rlim_cur;
+ unsigned long pad = stack_guard_gap;
+
+ /* Account for stack randomization if necessary */
+ if (current->flags & PF_RANDOMIZE)
+ pad += (STACK_RND_MASK << PAGE_SHIFT);
+
+ /* Values close to RLIM_INFINITY can overflow. */
+ if (gap + pad > gap)
+ gap += pad;
if (gap < MIN_GAP)
gap = MIN_GAP;