Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>2019-08-29 12:53:16 +0200
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2019-10-07 18:57:13 +0200
commit1264d2e7b75bb94c081393d7d6216b3f0756c65b (patch)
treebbf79bfcae461254fc5d32d1b7042c08fa5ee856
parent403d6c9284f12ad3ef556201a854e005523c22dc (diff)
PCI: imx6: Propagate errors for optional regulators
[ Upstream commit 2170a09fb4b0f66e06e5bcdcbc98c9ccbf353650 ] regulator_get_optional() can fail for a number of reasons besides probe deferral. It can for example return -ENOMEM if it runs out of memory as it tries to allocate data structures. Propagating only -EPROBE_DEFER is problematic because it results in these legitimately fatal errors being treated as "regulator not specified in DT". What we really want is to ignore the optional regulators only if they have not been specified in DT. regulator_get_optional() returns -ENODEV in this case, so that's the special case that we need to handle. So we propagate all errors, except -ENODEV, so that real failures will still cause the driver to fail probe. Signed-off-by: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com> Signed-off-by: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@arm.com> Cc: Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com> Cc: Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de> Cc: Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org> Cc: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de> Cc: Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com> Cc: kernel@pengutronix.de Cc: linux-imx@nxp.com Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c
index 3826b444298c..3b2ceb566728 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c
@@ -807,8 +807,8 @@ static int imx6_pcie_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
imx6_pcie->vpcie = devm_regulator_get_optional(&pdev->dev, "vpcie");
if (IS_ERR(imx6_pcie->vpcie)) {
- if (PTR_ERR(imx6_pcie->vpcie) == -EPROBE_DEFER)
- return -EPROBE_DEFER;
+ if (PTR_ERR(imx6_pcie->vpcie) != -ENODEV)
+ return PTR_ERR(imx6_pcie->vpcie);
imx6_pcie->vpcie = NULL;
}