Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorWaiman Long <longman@redhat.com>2018-01-22 17:09:34 -0500
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2018-01-24 12:31:55 +0100
commit1df37383a8aeabb9b418698f0bcdffea01f4b1b2 (patch)
treeea64df099e00740c4e153dccc4ad3de8ad630f85
parent3f7d875566d8e79c5e0b2c9a413e91b2c29e0854 (diff)
x86/retpoline: Remove the esp/rsp thunk
It doesn't make sense to have an indirect call thunk with esp/rsp as retpoline code won't work correctly with the stack pointer register. Removing it will help compiler writers to catch error in case such a thunk call is emitted incorrectly. Fixes: 76b043848fd2 ("x86/retpoline: Add initial retpoline support") Suggested-by: Jeff Law <law@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Acked-by: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk> Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@google.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jikos@kernel.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1516658974-27852-1-git-send-email-longman@redhat.com
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/include/asm/asm-prototypes.h1
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/lib/retpoline.S1
2 files changed, 0 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/asm-prototypes.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/asm-prototypes.h
index 0927cdc4f946..1908214b9125 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/asm-prototypes.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/asm-prototypes.h
@@ -38,5 +38,4 @@ INDIRECT_THUNK(dx)
INDIRECT_THUNK(si)
INDIRECT_THUNK(di)
INDIRECT_THUNK(bp)
-INDIRECT_THUNK(sp)
#endif /* CONFIG_RETPOLINE */
diff --git a/arch/x86/lib/retpoline.S b/arch/x86/lib/retpoline.S
index dfb2ba91b670..c909961e678a 100644
--- a/arch/x86/lib/retpoline.S
+++ b/arch/x86/lib/retpoline.S
@@ -36,7 +36,6 @@ GENERATE_THUNK(_ASM_DX)
GENERATE_THUNK(_ASM_SI)
GENERATE_THUNK(_ASM_DI)
GENERATE_THUNK(_ASM_BP)
-GENERATE_THUNK(_ASM_SP)
#ifdef CONFIG_64BIT
GENERATE_THUNK(r8)
GENERATE_THUNK(r9)