Home Home > GIT Browse > openSUSE-15.2
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorChris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>2019-09-12 13:56:34 +0100
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-09-12 14:55:03 +0100
commit505a8ec7e11ae5236c4a154a1e24ef49a8349600 (patch)
tree9d1fac93a7f0a94710763bc2ef19ff4e623ca262
parent98dcb386e5c3d53da2ed0b14b5930a01c90ad36a (diff)
Revert "drm/i915/userptr: Acquire the page lock around set_page_dirty()"
The userptr put_pages can be called from inside try_to_unmap, and so enters with the page lock held on one of the object's backing pages. We cannot take the page lock ourselves for fear of recursion. Reported-by: Lionel Landwerlin <lionel.g.landwerlin@intel.com> Reported-by: Martin Wilck <Martin.Wilck@suse.com> Reported-by: Leo Kraav <leho@kraav.com> Fixes: aa56a292ce62 ("drm/i915/userptr: Acquire the page lock around set_page_dirty()") References: https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=203317 Signed-off-by: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk> Cc: Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@intel.com> Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com> Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gem/i915_gem_userptr.c10
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 9 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gem/i915_gem_userptr.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gem/i915_gem_userptr.c
index 2caa594322bc..528b61678334 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gem/i915_gem_userptr.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gem/i915_gem_userptr.c
@@ -664,15 +664,7 @@ i915_gem_userptr_put_pages(struct drm_i915_gem_object *obj,
for_each_sgt_page(page, sgt_iter, pages) {
if (obj->mm.dirty)
- /*
- * As this may not be anonymous memory (e.g. shmem)
- * but exist on a real mapping, we have to lock
- * the page in order to dirty it -- holding
- * the page reference is not sufficient to
- * prevent the inode from being truncated.
- * Play safe and take the lock.
- */
- set_page_dirty_lock(page);
+ set_page_dirty(page);
mark_page_accessed(page);
put_page(page);