Home Home > GIT Browse
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>2019-01-10 14:27:45 +0000
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2019-02-04 08:45:25 +0100
commit9dff0aa95a324e262ffb03f425d00e4751f3294e (patch)
treec0c16af8ed756d461878a35c964f4dc0f1447423
parent602cae04c4864bb3487dfe4c2126c8d9e7e1614a (diff)
perf/core: Don't WARN() for impossible ring-buffer sizes
The perf tool uses /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_mlock_kb to determine how large its ringbuffer mmap should be. This can be configured to arbitrary values, which can be larger than the maximum possible allocation from kmalloc. When this is configured to a suitably large value (e.g. thanks to the perf fuzzer), attempting to use perf record triggers a WARN_ON_ONCE() in __alloc_pages_nodemask(): WARNING: CPU: 2 PID: 5666 at mm/page_alloc.c:4511 __alloc_pages_nodemask+0x3f8/0xbc8 Let's avoid this by checking that the requested allocation is possible before calling kzalloc. Reported-by: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Reviewed-by: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190110142745.25495-1-mark.rutland@arm.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/ring_buffer.c3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c b/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
index 4a9937076331..309ef5a64af5 100644
--- a/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
+++ b/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
@@ -734,6 +734,9 @@ struct ring_buffer *rb_alloc(int nr_pages, long watermark, int cpu, int flags)
size = sizeof(struct ring_buffer);
size += nr_pages * sizeof(void *);
+ if (order_base_2(size) >= MAX_ORDER)
+ goto fail;
+
rb = kzalloc(size, GFP_KERNEL);
if (!rb)
goto fail;