Home Home > GIT Browse > SLE12-SP3
summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2019-02-13 07:57:02 +0100
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2019-02-20 10:13:22 +0100
commit222b22e1f32d7f96d5a4fdb15f3be3eb82cf340c (patch)
treeb04c005e23b30d88f300dff56b50bf124551030b
parentb7febf3b2909e98024e90fc5144b5075bfaddf03 (diff)
perf/core: Fix impossible ring-buffer sizes warning
commit 528871b456026e6127d95b1b2bd8e3a003dc1614 upstream. The following commit: 9dff0aa95a32 ("perf/core: Don't WARN() for impossible ring-buffer sizes") results in perf recording failures with larger mmap areas: root@skl:/tmp# perf record -g -a failed to mmap with 12 (Cannot allocate memory) The root cause is that the following condition is buggy: if (order_base_2(size) >= MAX_ORDER) goto fail; The problem is that @size is in bytes and MAX_ORDER is in pages, so the right test is: if (order_base_2(size) >= PAGE_SHIFT+MAX_ORDER) goto fail; Fix it. Reported-by: "Jin, Yao" <yao.jin@linux.intel.com> Bisected-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Analyzed-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Fixes: 9dff0aa95a32 ("perf/core: Don't WARN() for impossible ring-buffer sizes") Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
-rw-r--r--kernel/events/ring_buffer.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c b/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
index 93bfb61506fa..358bb53c1e74 100644
--- a/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
+++ b/kernel/events/ring_buffer.c
@@ -637,7 +637,7 @@ struct ring_buffer *rb_alloc(int nr_pages, long watermark, int cpu, int flags)
size = sizeof(struct ring_buffer);
size += nr_pages * sizeof(void *);
- if (order_base_2(size) >= MAX_ORDER)
+ if (order_base_2(size) >= PAGE_SHIFT+MAX_ORDER)
goto fail;
rb = kzalloc(size, GFP_KERNEL);